Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Getting back into Archery, what to get? >

Getting back into Archery, what to get?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Getting back into Archery, what to get?

Old 12-18-2012, 08:59 AM
Spike

Default Getting back into Archery, what to get?

I haven't archery hunted in years as I graduated college and my work has kept me away from being in the woods in archery season. I'm a construction surveyor and my work slows down in the winter so I'm able to rifle hunt but I enjoy archery the most.
I have taken a new job which allows me to be closer to home and I should have time in the afternoons and weekends to hunt.
My question is what equipment should I get? My old bow is outdated, shot aluminum arrows and whatever have you. I want to know what's best out there. I see Gander Mountain has ready to hunt packages but I also want to keep the local archery shops in business. What bows are best out there and what accessories should I get?
I'm excited and can't wait for season next fall, I just got some new trail cams and can't wait to see what turns up. I'll be the only one hunting archery on our 300 acre tract as my family only rifle hunts so I can't wait to see what I can get in the early season.
I don't know if it matters what kind of terrain/ground is around the area but it's heavily wooded, laurel, rhododendron, red berries what have you. It's an awesome piece for both bear and whitetail.
Thanks, I'm just trying to get some ideas of what products everyone is using and what they prefer over others. Thanks!
Old 12-18-2012, 04:26 PM
Typical Buck