Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

New Bow

Old 09-22-2011, 11:26 AM
Spike

Default New Bow

Im looking for a first time bow for deer hunting im completely new to it i have shot compound bows before just not owned one.. im looking for a decent brand and price im looking into the 300-500 range any suggestions?
Old 09-22-2011, 12:18 PM
Fork Horn

You could get a mid range combo from a Cabelas or bass pro for that price. They are all pretty comparable at that price range. I would suggest buying a more top of the line bow that is a couple of years old. Most of the time you can get a good deal on a used bow and they are already set up, ready to hunt.
Old 09-22-2011, 12:47 PM
Fork Horn

Martin has some really nice bows that I have been impressed with when I've seen them in action. I think one of my buddies has a "cheetah"... Or something to that effect, fast and quiet.

Note: He bought his through ebay and saved a boatload! Somewhere around $300 brand new...

Last edited by IOWABUCKHUNTR; 09-22-2011 at 12:50 PM.
Old 09-22-2011, 02:29 PM
Fork Horn

I just got the 2011 Diamond Outlaw with a package deal for 499 at gander. I love it
Old 09-22-2011, 08:05 PM
Fork Horn

i first started with and pse deer hunter 300 or so for the whole kit the cams are really small and plastic but it killed deer. my wife is using it now to learn how to shoot a bow.
Old 09-23-2011, 08:17 AM
Spike

I personally shoot a Mission Venture, its $500 new for the just the bow, so it may end up a little over what you wanna spend, but you could always look for one used. Missions are made by Mathews, extremely high quality for the price. I love mine
Old 09-23-2011, 09:02 PM
Spike

If the compounds you shot belong to friends, talk to them. If not, go to a pro shop and talk to them (find one you have confidence in).