Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
climbing stand help. >

climbing stand help.

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

climbing stand help.

Old 09-30-2010, 05:29 PM
Spike

Default climbing stand help.

i just got an ameristep climber. this is my first time using a climber, and its seeming pretty hard to get the hang of it. if i barely bump the top it falls, if i sit to far back on it it falls. so im afraid to go up very high with it yet. maybe its just me being new to using it, or i might not be using it right. i was testing it out on a telephone pole that wasnt very big. am i missing something? do i need to try a bigger tree.? or am i just inexperienced and need more time to get used to it? any help would be appriciated.
Old 09-30-2010, 06:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

When you go up the tree you got to kind of put your weight to the rear. I kind of hop on the foot portion to let the teeth dig in. You can kind of push down on the top portion so the teeth dig in a little more. Pressure the farther from the tree is key.

Remember set your stand up at a higher angle to compensate for the tree narrowing as you go up. Or your stand will be a bad angle downwards. I made a quick drawing to illustrate it. Couldn’t really explain to well.
Attached Thumbnails climbing stand help.-untitled.jpg  
Old 09-30-2010, 06:31 PM
Fork Horn

Some of them don't climb on telephone poles well. When you set the stand up at the bottom of the tree you want to keep it with a slight angle upward so, when you get to where you want to hunt it will be level. Find an actual tree to learn how to climb in it. It will help your confidence and please, always wear your harness.
Old 09-30-2010, 07:54 PM
Spike