HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   for you guys with climbers (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/309023-you-guys-climbers.html)

bowhunterny 11-04-2009 01:31 PM

for you guys with climbers

this is my first year bow hunting i diddnt want to buy a treestand this season due to the amount of money i have already spent but after several outings i came to the conclusion one is needed.i hunt public land so i am considering a climber. which climbers do you recommend and why. i would like a climber that is suitable for both bow and gun hunting.thank you for your help

DeerandbearhoG 11-04-2009 02:35 PM

I bowhunt exclusivly from a climber, even if I had my own land I would still use a climber, but they require some practice before hunting w/ them, because most people find them awkward at 1st. I have 2 climbers. 1 is an API "bowhunter" that I bought in 2000 and got alot of use out of. Last year I bought a summit "cabelas exclusive" model w/ a gun rest for 150$. The summit is a little more comfy due to the thicker seat cusion and it attatches to to tree a bit easier, due to the lack of clip pins found on the API, but... I went back to the ol API, because even though it doesnt have as thick a cusion, and takes about 20 seconds longer to set up , It climbs the tree much quicker and easier, and it also packs alot flatter which is nice. the summit also tend to get jammed together which is annoying as hell, and it definatly makes more noise, even though I covered both stands w/ foam tape. both stands are around 20lbs. I also have a HSS vest which I HIGHLY recommend.

usmc1978 11-04-2009 03:31 PM