Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

New Property

Old 08-14-2009, 08:14 AM
Fork Horn

Default New Property

Well I came across some new land to hunt that looks great. The problem is the land is mainly a giant field of corn and grass and I can't find many trees for possible stands. It has a lot of awesome hardwoods bordering it, but I'm just not allowed to hunt it. Here is a few pictures for anybody who would like to give me some pointers on possible areas where they would hang a stand. I might have to hunt out of a blind which I have never done with archery equipment before.

Yellow= Corn
Blue = river running through hardwoods, lots of ridges.
Green= Grass
Green Outline is the border line I can hunt

Heres a Topo

Any opinions?

Thanks

-Sparrow
Old 08-14-2009, 08:39 AM
Fork Horn

find where the deer are using most. ask the farmer if he has any big hay bails. stack them up near where the most used trails are and make a 15ft high hay blind. you need enough to give you a sturdy base and kinda build it up like a pyramid. you need to get it in there asap so the deer have time to get used to it. if thats to much hastle use a ground blind or a tripod but you need to get them in there soon so the deer get used to it unless there is good cover around where you want to put it. good luck.
Old 08-14-2009, 09:12 AM
Nontypical Buck

personally i would try to get one in this area of trees i outlined in pink. if there is one big enough. if not work a tripod stand in somehow.New Property-land.jpg
Old 08-14-2009, 09:19 AM
Nontypical Buck