Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

I want a Bow...

Old 08-13-2009, 02:23 PM
Ava
Fork Horn

Default I want a Bow...

BUT I'm a newbie and only played with the ones they give you in grade school for an archery lesson or two and it could have had a suction cup on the end for all I remember.

I don't want one of those though. I want a nice one but I'm clueless as to what I should look at. I can almost promise you bow hunters here that I'd look like a deer caught in headlights if I try to pick one out myself. Serioulsy! I have no clue what to even look at or what would be good for a begin'er like myself.

Okay, so here is where I am...

I'm hunting this year but with a 243 winchester. I have no intrest or business in trying to bow hunt this year but I'd like to become familar with a bow so I can perhaps go next year. I don't see any better time than now in trying to find a nice bow to start with and honing my skills if I even have skills.

Can you help and guide me into the perfect bow for a newbie wanting to learn the fine art of bow hunting? What do I need to know?
Old 08-13-2009, 02:54 PM
Fork Horn

Cool. Glad to hear your getting into bowhunting! How much coin do you want to spend on everything?
Old 08-13-2009, 03:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

you will also need to know your draw length so you can get a bow that fits you .
glad to hear you are going to hunt next year with it because you should practice and get so you canshoot with consistency. See if you can try a few to see what feels good for you and what kind of poundage you can pull with out struggling
Old 08-13-2009, 05:59 PM
Ava
Fork Horn

As far as coin, I'm not sure... Never even looked into pricing one <don't know what they range from> and I don't know what I'm looking for either.

Ahhh. Tupidity. That's how I feel cuz I know nothing right now.