HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Question (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/299210-question.html)

Bible_Man 07-29-2009 09:30 PM

Question

I am new to bowhunting myself, as this coming season will be my first. But, my wife has recently shown some interest in trying to do a little herself next season. It isn't in the budget to get her a bow for this year, but what are some suggestions for a low priced, good quality bow for a woman to start with? Not sure of her draw length...I would guess around 28. Thanks for your input!

wis_bow_huntr 07-30-2009 03:12 AM

Look into PSE they make some of the best bows out there and are affordable. I think the Stinger would be a great bow for her to start out with.

Double Drops 24 07-30-2009 04:30 AM

Take a look at the Mission line of bows by Mathews. They make some excellent bows at an affordable price.

Lady Forge 07-30-2009 05:15 AM

Bible Man;
Its great to hear of more women wanting to join the world of bowhunters.:biggrin:

There are quite a few good bows out there on the market that have ajustable draw lengths and ajustable draw weight that are priced to be a little more affordable.
Just A Few Examples
Diamond Razor Edge
Parker Sidekick
Mission Menace
PSE
There are others brands out there but I dont have personal experience with them so I cant really comment on them.

HuntingEd 07-30-2009 06:24 AM

How tall is your wife?!?!?! a 28" draw length is for someone around 6'... I'd take her to a bow shop and have them measure her draw length. Or rule of thumb is take your height in inches, subtract 15 and divide by 2. For instance I'm 5'11", and I shoot 27" draw (used to be 28" but took some out to improve accuracy). Shorter draw usually makes you more accurate, well more consistent to be exact...