Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Question

Old 07-29-2009, 09:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Question

I am new to bowhunting myself, as this coming season will be my first. But, my wife has recently shown some interest in trying to do a little herself next season. It isn't in the budget to get her a bow for this year, but what are some suggestions for a low priced, good quality bow for a woman to start with? Not sure of her draw length...I would guess around 28. Thanks for your input!
Old 07-30-2009, 03:12 AM
Giant Nontypical

Look into PSE they make some of the best bows out there and are affordable. I think the Stinger would be a great bow for her to start out with.
Old 07-30-2009, 04:30 AM
Fork Horn

Take a look at the Mission line of bows by Mathews. They make some excellent bows at an affordable price.
Old 07-30-2009, 05:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

Bible Man;
Its great to hear of more women wanting to join the world of bowhunters.

There are quite a few good bows out there on the market that have ajustable draw lengths and ajustable draw weight that are priced to be a little more affordable.
Just A Few Examples
Diamond Razor Edge
Parker Sidekick
Mission Menace
PSE
There are others brands out there but I dont have personal experience with them so I cant really comment on them.
Old 07-30-2009, 06:24 AM
Nontypical Buck

How tall is your wife?!?!?! a 28" draw length is for someone around 6'... I'd take her to a bow shop and have them measure her draw length. Or rule of thumb is take your height in inches, subtract 15 and divide by 2. For instance I'm 5'11", and I shoot 27" draw (used to be 28" but took some out to improve accuracy). Shorter draw usually makes you more accurate, well more consistent to be exact...