Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Sight Pin Question >

Sight Pin Question

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Sight Pin Question

Old 03-24-2009, 12:24 PM
Fork Horn

Default Sight Pin Question

I'm new to archery. What are the pros and cons to more or less sight pins? I see 3, 4, 5 and 6 pin set-ups.
Old 03-24-2009, 12:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Sight Pin Question

Pro:dont have to hold high or low at different ranges

Con: the amount ofpins can confuse you when you are aiming on what pin to use
Old 03-24-2009, 03:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Much can depend on how far you intend to shoot. Most people realize that bowhunting is stilla short range sport. For most that means 30 yards or less. Maybe out west it can stretch to 40 yards or a little more, depending one"s skill level.

If you are hunting hardwoods whitetail then rarely will shots exceed 30 yards. Not only is foilage a determining factor, but the skill level and ethics of the hunter. Assuming you're in this bracket you would get along nicely with a maximum of two pins, sighted for 20 and 30 yards.

The biggest reason for having upwards of five pins is it allows for practicing at longer distances and 3D shooting. The problem with using so many while hunting is that too many pins do a good job of blocking out your target (deer?). Also, when the adrenalin starts flowing it's easier to pick the wrong pin simply because there are too many there. I've seen people do this even when target shooting where there is time to "think", and I've done it myself.