Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 I almost fell... a tip on tree stand safety >

I almost fell... a tip on tree stand safety

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

I almost fell... a tip on tree stand safety

Old 12-01-2008, 11:03 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default I almost fell... a tip on tree stand safety

I posted this in Deer Hunting, I'll post this here as well.

I've been hunting for nearly 30 years now and have climbed in and out of a tree hundreds of times and have never had a close call - until last night. There's been numerous threads on this subject, but I thought I'd post this out here to possibly help others. A member of this board, VC1111, posted a thread on tree stand safety a couple years ago in which I followed his advice. Last night it paid off.

Rather than climbing in and out of a tree untethered and attaching a safety harness once in the stand, I switched to a system that is inexpensive yet extremely effective. The system is a long large diameter rope (1") attached to the base of the tree running up the tree and attached above the stand. Before climbing the tree you attach your harness to this ascending/descending rope via either a smaller diameter rope with a prusik knot or a more expensive climbing device called a climbing ascender. I chose the prusik knot for economy.

Prusik knot:
http://www.survivaltopics.com/surviv...a-prusik-knot/

This knot easily slides along the rope but once pressure is applied, it grabs the larger rope. By keeping the prusik knot above your head at all times during ascending/descending, if a fall occurs, it grabs you promptly.