Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Late season advice..please >

Late season advice..please

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Late season advice..please

Old 11-27-2008, 08:28 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Late season advice..please

Well everyone, I'm looking for a little advice.. My season has progressively gotten worse over the past few weeks. First off I should explain that this is a new property my family got back in january..Its a small parcel with a pond, field and ridge that gets real thick in some places. I scouted all spring and summer and it paid off in early season with a lot of great hunts. This is my first year going at it with a bow, and I was fortunate enough to take a doe in October, but lately deer sightings have been WAY down. Since gun season opened up I've seen 3 deer, out of 9 hunts.

During early archery I was seeing deer almost every sit, sometimes 8 or 9 a sit, the rut gave me some good action, but I passed on a fork at 10 yards (which Im regretting now, would of been good 1st bow buck)... In the past Ive only shotgun hunted, so its a whole new ball game that I'm learning as far as late archery season goes, but I love to hunt with my bow so I'll continue to be out throughout December and the beginning of January. I finally have a piece of ground to call my own, so I can not give up.. I know it could be even harder but I have some questions..

-After a lot of pressure from gun season, do deer eventually go back to old travel routes?

-could they be on other food sources?..There is a lot of cut corn in the area (but im still hearing gunshots from the same ridge, across, and about 1/2 mile down)

-basically any late season tips/advice you guys could give me would be great. I really appreciate it

-Adam Bowman

Old 11-27-2008, 08:33 PM

Default RE: Late season advice..please