Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Deer looking up? >

Deer looking up?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Deer looking up?

Old 11-11-2008, 06:01 PM
Dominant Buck

Default Deer looking up?

I know I'm still kinda new to this.....but observing a doe tonight made me come up with a theory on "deer looking up".

I ain't buying it.

I had a doe come in and bed down about 60 yds away, this afternoon. When she got up...she walked directly to my tree. She sniffed the ground around my tree and must have smelled where I laid my stand down when I was getting ready. She would stick her nose in the air.....seemingly trying to catch my wind. She circled around and around my tree....doing this over and over. If I'd moved....she would have pegged me. BUT.I don't think it had ANYTHING to do with her "looking up". I think it had everything to do with her trying to wind me. She was around me for 50 minutes. I guess you can learn a lot by NOT shooting them.

Anyways.....anyone agree with me? I just don't think they have the cognizant ability to "learn". I just don't see them "learning" to "look up" for hunters. Do they pick a lot of hunters off trying to get a wind (when they detect an entrance trail of actually DO catch a hunter's wind)? Surely. Do they achieve this by "looking up"? I just don't think so.
Old 11-11-2008, 06:05 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Deer looking up?

I dont think they "learn" to look up.

But if they smell you and look up... you might be toast.

So yes I agree with you.
Old 11-11-2008, 06:06 PM
Nontypical Buck