Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Stirring The Pot 8X vs 10X >

Stirring The Pot 8X vs 10X

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Stirring The Pot 8X vs 10X

Old 11-03-2008, 06:47 AM
Fork Horn

Default Stirring The Pot 8X vs 10X

Let me preface this with a little of my background.

I have 5 years experience as an optician (lab and dispensing)

I was a US navy Opticalman for 4 years went to tech schools in both Great Lakes Il and New london CT. Serviced thousands of pairs of binoculars, hundereds of periscopes, lots and lots of telescopes, numerous navigational instruments.

4 years experience servicing opthalmic intruments (eye doctors equipments) microscopes, astonomical telescopes, and tons of binoculars.

2 years experience in laser optics

As a side note. When I was involved with astonomical telescopes and astronomical optics we had a little joke about newbies just getting into astronomy. The joke was about amateur astronomers obsession with power. Always the question "what power is this" or "what's the most power I can get out of my scope". People who spend their livesworking with optics know what I'm talking about. Power is way overrated.

So here's my question to you all........

WHY....WHY ....WHY.. do so many of you guys who are obviously pretty damn intelligent carry around 10X binoculars? My guess is that you have fallen prey to a marketing strategy.

I've got a slew of reasons most hunters (especially bow hunters) should be carrying 7X, 8X, 8.5X, or maybe even 9X binos.

I've already heard most of the reasonssome of youcarry 10X. But Let me hear your reason you carry 10X.

I'll post the reasons lower power (8X)are better suited for 99.5% of hunting (&3D)situations after I hear from you all.