Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Leasing land?

Old 11-02-2008, 06:29 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Leasing land?

I know this has been asked before, but I couldn't find the info I was looking for. What does everyone pay for leasing land??? If I was to find someone willing to lease me some land, what are some of the key things to set as coast and what your allowed to do on that property? I need to find some new land to hunt. Or is there anyone on here close to me that has land I can hunt on??? The property I can hunt on now I think I will end up loosing soon, so I just what to have a backup plan. Any info would be great. I am even able to work out some sort of trade of services. I am an auto mechanic and can trade work like that for access to some hunting ground.
Old 11-02-2008, 09:01 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Leasing land?

Cost depends, but normally in NY it seems like land is being leased for an average of $10/acre. Now I do know of some that is leased for less, but not less than $8/acre. Basically the lease is for recreational use only. The key benefit of this probably doesn't need explained to you, but some do prohibit the use of recreational ATV riding due to the liability and no open fires or permanent fixtures. We had one lease that we were allowed to have a camper on the property but it had to removed for a period of 30 days within a 12 month period.

Hard part is if you lease from a timber company, they may be in there during the hunting season, but most will give you a heads up ahead of time.

Leasing is the closest to control of the land second to owning. I have leased land in NY since 1998 and this was the first year I did not have to do so.

Hopefully this helps, but to start the ball rolling, contact some timber companies in your area.
Old 11-02-2008, 09:23 AM
Giant Nontypical