Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 How long did it take? >

How long did it take?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How long did it take?

Old 10-09-2008, 12:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default How long did it take?

I have been hunting for 4 years and still have yet to take a buck. I have had many opportunities at small bucks, but nothing I wanted to shoot. People call me picky, but I just want to wait for a nice buck and give the young ones times to grow.

Just curious to how long it took some of you to get your first buck.
Old 10-09-2008, 12:31 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: How long did it take?

I am in the same boat. This is my 4th season and I haven't taken anything yet. Mostly due to the fact that I was giving my son first shot at any deer. I did shot a buck last year with a bow during rifle season that was finished off with a rifle, so I can't claim that asa kill. I have left alot of small bucks walk, but I already have a good buck on the wall, so I am waiting for something similar or an older buck that looks like it won't get much bigger.
Old 10-09-2008, 12:32 PM

I wasn't very picky, but shot a nice 8 point buck in my second bowhunting trip at 14. If you are going to wait, your take will be very dependent on where you hunt and how much you hunt, so it could be a while.
Old 10-09-2008, 12:38 PM
Fork Horn

My advice to any beginner is shoot something. Don't have too high of standards to start, get some kills under your belt either with doe tags or whatever. You need to be confident and able to control your nerves when you do get the chance at the big boy. If the first deer you draw back on is a monster you will come un-glued, atleast I would hope you do or else hunting will get old fast
Old 10-09-2008, 12:50 PM
Nontypical Buck