Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 How long did it take? >

How long did it take?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How long did it take?

Old 10-09-2008, 01:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How long did it take?

ORIGINAL: KYDeerHunter03

I have been hunting for 4 years and still have yet to take a buck. I have had many opportunities at small bucks, but nothing I wanted to shoot. People call me picky, but I just want to wait for a nice buck and give the young ones times to grow.

Just curious to how long it took some of you to get your first buck.
I'll let you know how long it took when I get my first buck with my bow. The does in my areas are scared to death, though.
Old 10-09-2008, 02:22 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Bowhunter2001

ORIGINAL: WhitBri

My advice to any beginner is shoot something. Don't have too high of standards to start, get some kills under your belt either with doe tags or whatever. You need to be confident and able to control your nerves when you do get the chance at the big boy. If the first deer you draw back on is a monster you will come un-glued, atleast I would hope you do or else hunting will get old fast
Exactly! You must build confidence in yourself. Get a few kills under your belt and then you know that you can get the job done when the big boy steps out!
x2
Old 10-09-2008, 03:26 PM
Nontypical Buck

I know you've been after a doe this season, so "gettinga kill under your belt" can be accomplished that way as well.

To answer the how long question, the first buck was my first full season of bowhunting - but that was after many years of rifle/muzzleloader hunting. It wasn't anything huge, actually the smallest buck I've every shot. A little 6 pointer. It was a great confidence booster though.

Bottom line, shoot what YOU want.
Old 10-09-2008, 03:55 PM
Nontypical Buck