Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Is a elk or mule deer "nose" as good as a whitetail? >

Is a elk or mule deer "nose" as good as a whitetail?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Is a elk or mule deer "nose" as good as a whitetail?

Old 07-16-2008, 01:41 PM

Default Is a elk or mule deer "nose" as good as a whitetail?

I alway hear how good the nose of a whitetail is but what about elk and mule deer.
Old 07-16-2008, 01:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Is a elk or mule deer "nose" as good as a whitetail?

I would argue that they are. I don't have scientifica data to back that statement up, but I have had plenty of experiences where those critters winded me from long ranges.

Let me put it this way... if you feel the slightest breeze on the back of your neck when trying to sneak up on an elk or mule deer, you might as well throw up your hands instantly because they've gotcha
Old 07-16-2008, 02:02 PM
Dominant Buck

Hey Jim...

I've read otherwise (Elk's nose is not as acute as a whitetail's).....but I'm not disputing your claim. Do you think what you describe "could be" from the lack of human interaction commonly associated with elk habitat?

It would make sense to me......since some of the guys who hunt big woods have similar issues with whitetails......that those of us who hunt where human scent is more prevailant don't have to worry about "as much".

Just a thought...
Old 07-16-2008, 02:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: GMMAT

Hey Jim...

I've read otherwise (Elk's nose is not as acute as a whitetail's).....but I'm not disputing your claim. Do you think what you describe "could be" from the lack of human interaction commonly associated with elk habitat?