Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Top 3 Mechanical Broadheads >

Top 3 Mechanical Broadheads

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Top 3 Mechanical Broadheads

Old 03-04-2003, 09:04 AM

Default Top 3 Mechanical Broadheads

Every year I get tired of shooting the same field tips at the same target over and over and over again. So last year I started shooting my 75 Grain Rocket Wolverines into water jugs, ply wood, fruit, foam insulation board, stacked card board, shaken up beer cans, what ever I could find to hold my interest for a while. But I couldn' t find many 75 Grain Broadheads to shoot. This year I am switching to the 100 grain tips. I wanted to get your opinion on what you thougt were the top 3 100 Grain Mechanical heads. I want to buy a pack of each and shoot the crap out of them this summer to see which one does the most damage and holds up the best. I was thinking of: Rocket Sidewinders, Rocky Mountain Snypers, and NAP Spitfires.
Old 03-04-2003, 09:22 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Top 3 Mechanical Broadheads

Rocket Steelheads, NAP Shockwaves and Rocky Mountain Snypers....

...going by 5shot' s tests that is.

With my particular setup I have also had good success with Hammerheads and Naildrivers though neither of them is for every setup out there.
Old 03-04-2003, 09:24 AM

Throw you some Vortex Mini-Maxes in there for grins and giggles. They are a 3 blade with a 2" cut. I' ve used them for years and they are an excellent head. They are very tough, very accurate and I' ve gotten great penetration out of them. The blades can get dulled during shipping sometimes, so I always make it a point to sharpen them before hunting.

Post your results with the various heads so we can see how they performed.
Old 03-04-2003, 11:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

FYI
Rocket and GKF Mechanicals are the same exact head.