Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Scents - what do you use? >

Scents - what do you use?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Scents - what do you use?

Old 06-26-2008, 01:18 PM

Default Scents - what do you use?

I looked back through 16 pages or so and didn't find posts on this.

AT one point I had pretty good response out of a bottle of Code Blue Estrus but subsequent bottles were underwhelming.

Anybody have preferences onspecific brands they use for doe in heat or dominant buck scent?
Old 06-26-2008, 01:27 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Scents - what do you use?

many years ago I studied both scents and calling. I dedicated a whole rut season to it. I used tinks 69 (it was the rage back then). I NEVER got a buck to come to it. I did have success with calling. BTW I never did both on the same trip. I wanted to seperate the calling from the scents.

I have a friend who claims to have great success with scents. I don't know what he uses. sorry.

My problem with scents is that the deer has to be down wind for it to work unless you use a drag. If the deer smells your scents he will most likely smell you?
Old 06-26-2008, 01:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: magicman54494

many years ago I studied both scents and calling. I dedicated a whole rut season to it. I used tinks 69 (it was the rage back then). I NEVER got a buck to come to it. I did have success with calling. BTW I never did both on the same trip. I wanted to seperate the calling from the scents.

I have a friend who claims to have great success with scents. I don't know what he uses. sorry.

My problem with scents is that the deer has to be down wind for it to work unless you use a drag. If the deer smells your scents he will most likely smell you?