Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

less is more???

Old 06-23-2008, 06:37 PM

Default less is more???

Many of you know that my hunting style is unorthodox. I don't scout in the "off " season, I usually go in a week before the season starts and find what I need, now, it does help that I have been hunting the same place for 20 yrs, but still, I don't walk in the woods much unless Im going hunting. Even with my new lease last year, I scouted once before the season, but didn't see much. The next two trips in were to hunt and I came out with two nice bucks. What Im saying is, I believe the less Im in the woods before the season the better my chances are of seeing deer. Remember, I scout with my bow and tree stand in hand 95% of the time. Would I see better results if I were in the woods in May-Sept?

These are the two bucks I took with the first two trips in my new lease... Just thought Id share, but I will need to hol out next year for better ones!!

Old 06-23-2008, 06:53 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: less is more???

Landon, your hunting style isn't unorthodox at all! In fact that's almost EXACTY how I handle my hunting area. I've been hunting my area for about 6-7 years, and I pretty much know all that I need to know aboutit.
I'll go in and set my trail cam up in Aug/Sept to get an idea of what kind of talent I've got running around. I may clear a branch or so from a couple of shooting lanes, but that's about it. I only check my cam once every two weeks, so as not to disrupt the area too much. Less is more better!!
Old 06-23-2008, 06:55 PM
Typical Buck