Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Lady hunters Help! >

Lady hunters Help!

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Lady hunters Help!

Old 02-23-2003, 10:16 AM

Default Lady hunters Help!

O.K. So I wanted to start bowhinting but have not bought a bow yet,brother says I need a compound bow,I dont have alot of strength as I had cancer some years ago and never regained all my strength.My questoin is can some of you ladies recommend a bow for a beginner?I am thinking deer for the freezer.
Old 02-23-2003, 11:48 AM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 02-23-2003, 11:51 AM

Default RE: Lady hunters Help!

Hi judi,
Yes, I can recommend a bow for you. I started shooting bow 4 years ago. My first bow was a Mathews MQ-32. I started out shooting a 40# draw, 26" draw length. Today I shoot a Mathews Ultra 2 and FX, 55# draw. Mathews seems to be the smoothest shooting bow I found, and I tested out a quite a few. I think a compound bow would be easier to shoot than a recurve if you don' t have a lot of strength. I don' t know where you live, but find a GOOD sporting goods supplier that specializes in bows, not a " DICKS" or " Cabela' s" . A dealer that specializes in just archery equipment should be able to set you up with a good set up.
Old 02-23-2003, 04:06 PM
tm
Fork Horn

Great tips so far, especially about the pro shop. I' ve set up several women hunters and the FX seems to be real popular, especially with the minimax cam. Go for it.!!!!!
Old 02-23-2003, 09:42 PM
Nontypical Buck