Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 antler restrictions, Your Fellings. >

antler restrictions, Your Fellings.

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

antler restrictions, Your Fellings.

Old 02-22-2003, 09:55 AM

Default antler restrictions, Your Fellings.

Last year was the first year for antler restrictions in the state of Pa. For most the restriction was 6 points to a side and for the rest of us it was 8 points to a side. Are large racks THE most important aspect of deer hunting?
Old 02-22-2003, 09:58 AM

Default RE: antler restrictions, Your Fellings.

I need to amend the thread. For most it was 3 points to a side and for the rest of us it was four points to a side. Sorry.
Old 02-22-2003, 10:13 AM

Being a PA resident I feel that Alt made a great decision by making an antler restriction. Not only will it strengthen our deer herd but create healthier and larger bucks.
Old 02-22-2003, 10:39 AM

No large racks are not the only thing important, they are important though

GA has a 2 buck limit and now one of the 2 must have 4pts on one side or more. Many counties in GA also have antler restrictions above and beyond that regulation as part of the overall management of the GA herd.

For many years before the regs were in place, we (on lands I hunt) have limited ourselves on the size of bucks taken. Remember that this not only helps protect the younger bucks, but it causes more people to take does instead of young bucks, which in turn helps produce a healthier, more balanced herd.

Good move for PA.

Jim
Old 02-22-2003, 11:31 AM
Giant Nontypical

Well put huntingga!