Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 picking a tree stand >

picking a tree stand

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

picking a tree stand

Old 04-08-2008, 09:13 AM

Default picking a tree stand

hey everybody

I waswondering how you guys pick your treestand setup and what you look for? I'm wondering this because I'm new to hunting with treestands and that and serious need help with it any suggestion well help big time
Old 04-08-2008, 09:23 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: picking a tree stand

I actually see what other people are using. Like my family has all had different types of stands, and through everybodies trial and error, I have settled with a summit.
If I had to get a new stand they would be in this order
1. Summit, makes a fast, comfortable, sit all day stand. to me the best stand made,
2. Ole Man, light and pretty well made.
3. API, extremely comfortable however little on the heavy side
4. Loggy bayou, havent hunted out of one in years but they are very light and quiet, i just didnt like the way they gripped the tree.

All of these are reasonably priced and good quality stands..
Old 04-08-2008, 09:24 AM
Nontypical Buck

If I have to pack it in very far, it's the weight I'm most concerned with. If I'm going to leave it up for long, it's the most comfortable one. As far as brands, the ones listed already along with Gorilla are all good choices. Seat size and distance of seat to platform are important to comfort if you're not of average size.
Old 04-08-2008, 09:27 AM
Typical Buck

I think I totally misunderstood the question, My bad. I thought you meant how you decide which treestand to buy. Sorry....
Old 04-08-2008, 09:33 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: killadoe

I think I totally misunderstood the question, My bad. I thought you meant how you decide which treestand to buy. Sorry....
I just edited mine because I thought I had