Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Big Decision...RH to LH...questions. >

Big Decision...RH to LH...questions.

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.
View Poll Results: A poll
Stay Right Handed...Improve Form
36.36%
Go Left Handed...start from scratch
54.55%
Use a blinder
0%
Stop worrying...you worry too much
9.09%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Big Decision...RH to LH...questions.

Old 03-22-2008, 06:00 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Big Decision...RH to LH...questions.

Ok, after reading over several of the posts that have occured in recent days concerning eye dominance, I'm starting to be swayed a bit into switching over to a left hand bow. I've KNOWN I was left eye dominant since I was about 10 when I started shooting rifles (my dad even purchased me a left hand rifle when (double checked the eye dominace beforehand to make sure). However, when I was 14 and decided to get into archery, I really had no one guiding me or giving me advice. In fact, we went to a local pro shop and even after telling them I was left eye dominant (but right handed) they tried be out with a right hand bow and had me close my left eye. Of course this felt comfortable to me being right handed, but obviously it was the wrong way. I've been shooting this way for about 9 years now, and now that I'm starting to take my shooting more seriously, I'm wondering if I should attempt to make the switch to left hand bows. I've found that obvously I can't shoot with both eyes open, and I've also noticed I can't blur the pins very well and focus on the target...is this because of focus issues with only having one eye open?