Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Whitetail Hair Colors? >

Whitetail Hair Colors?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Whitetail Hair Colors?

Old 02-11-2008, 09:21 AM

Default Whitetail Hair Colors?

I was on my way into work this morning and I saw a few deer out in a field feeding and noticed these 2 deer were unusauly dark and got to thinking about hide color. I know in the summer whitetails around here have a very reddish color and then winter coats are mostly grayish in color. But I asked myself if the deers diet plays a part in their hair color, and I honestly couldn't answer that question. Does anyone know if their diet plays a part in their coloration at all? Just something I was thinking about.
Old 02-11-2008, 09:33 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Whitetail Fur Colors?

I don't think food does anything to their color, but I'm not a scientist/biologist! My friend shot a young buck 2 seasons ago and it was very dark in color. It wasn't black, but when you put it next to another normal colored deer, you could definitely see the difference. It was only a small 7-8point, but he got it mounted just because of the dark color and because it was his first deer with a bow!
Old 02-11-2008, 09:59 AM

I have no idea. I like to believe I know quite a bit about whitetails, but this was a question I couldn't answer. I know the amount of pigment and genetics plays a part but I can't help but think diet and environment plays a part in the color of the hair on the hide too.
Old 02-11-2008, 10:14 AM
Boone & Crockett

Deer don't have fur, they have hair. And I had this answer one other time, let me see if I can find it again.
Old 02-11-2008, 10:16 AM

I knew someone would correct me. LOL Gotta get techinical on me don't ya Rob? You will pay for that Gramps!!!. LOL My gut tells me that diet has to play at least little part in it.