Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Carbon Riser Bows >

Carbon Riser Bows

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Carbon Riser Bows

Old 01-25-2008, 12:33 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default Carbon Riser Bows

Hey guys - just thinking about something... And this is pure conjecture from me, b/c I have ZERO experience with this - but why don't we see more carbon-riser bows? Or more carbon bow parts?

Before y'all get all bent out of shape - I'm NOT being a high country homer here - just using them as an example, b/c they're one of the onlycompanies who was really trying to run with it...

Think about it - carbon is superlight, I think it's cheap, I know it's strong...

In recent history, we have seen carbon-riser bows (so I know it's possible):

Win & Win makes this "Inno" carbon riser, and this is what they had to say about it:
The new Inno maximises straightness and minimises twisting.

Both elements are very important but especially, minimal twisting which is more important while shooting. When a riser is twisted the limb tips goes toward the direction of the twist at full draw. The average riser has .2mm to .3mm twisting, however the Innocarbon riser has less than .1mm.

HCA made this carbon-riser bow, the "SSR" a while back. It weighed 2 POUNDS. I actually shot this one - and it felt fine to me. Like any other one-cam.

They also made and sold a fair amount of this Carbon 4Runner.

Then, as late as this year, they tried to sell a bow called the Carbon Stiletto 380.

Now, it's been years since I shot the HCA SSR - so I can't remember much about it other than I liked it. But what's the deal? Why aren't more companies jumping on the carbon-riser bandwagon and trying to push the envelope?

Is it more cost-restrictive? Does it just vibrate too much? Are the manufacturing process too labor intensive? Brittle?