Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 scouting public property >

scouting public property

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

scouting public property

Old 01-15-2008, 04:33 PM

Default scouting public property

I don't have a choice other than to hunt public property, so I am wondering what is the best tactic to use so as not to have other hunters take my location as their own? Also wondering should I place bait in a pile or spread it out, I figured by spreading it out,the bait wouldn't be as noticable. I really need help on this, I have been hunting for (4) four years and still have not harvested a deer. PLease help me, the taste or rather lack there of venison is taunting me!
Old 01-15-2008, 04:35 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: scouting public property

i think that the most logical answer, you may not wanna hear it is to get as far from a road as possible and close to private ground. go the extra mile
Old 01-15-2008, 05:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

absolutely correct ... hunting in CA all i hunt is public...not sure what kind of ground you are looking at but most average joes will not go that extra mile....get as far back as you can..use google earth, yahoo maps, etc. to find good areas to begin the scouting and go there...hike in and get back there and try to get somwhere hi to glass out an area if possible to avoid foot traffic in that area.......the best time to scout is during july-august (IMO)....
Old 01-15-2008, 05:56 PM
Nontypical Buck

I agree.. go the distance.. and look for natural funnels.. key in on these and hunt them with a good wind.

Another tactic you should try is hunting real close to roads. Most hunters never do this.. I hunted a public piece where I wasn't more than 100 yrds. from a major road.. I saw some real good bucks doing this.