Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 managing a herd on a small tract of land >

managing a herd on a small tract of land

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

managing a herd on a small tract of land

Old 01-11-2008, 05:45 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default managing a herd on a small tract of land

do you guys think QDM works on small pieces of land say 20 acres if not how much do you need.

I am talking only killing mature deer anddoes
Old 01-11-2008, 05:51 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: managing a herd on a small tract of land

70 acres and we do fairly well, and of that 70 over 25 acres is a horse pasture. our landowner breeds horses and uses this land for overflow.
Old 01-11-2008, 05:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

No. Not unless all of your neighbors are doing it to. I have 130 acres that I've been doing it on for 3 years now and I don't think it's really enough to have the results I want, and I also have a neighbor with 250 acres that's doing it, along with another neighbor that has given my exclusive access to his. Combined we are talking close to 500 acres and it's not quite enough. We have made a difference but don't have the control that I'd really like. It would take another 200 acres I think and NO trespassers to really do what I want.
Old 01-11-2008, 05:59 PM
Giant Nontypical

if it will not help on a small tract do you still kill the big ones and hope they make it

i am looking at buying some land but if i have to pay cash which for the first few years might be what i have to do i will be stuck around 15 acres
unless i can do a buy on contract
Old 01-11-2008, 06:02 PM
Giant Nontypical