Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Two Beady Eyes and a Short Hunt >

Two Beady Eyes and a Short Hunt

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Two Beady Eyes and a Short Hunt

Old 01-09-2008, 06:44 AM

Default Two Beady Eyes and a Short Hunt

I'm new to bow hunting...this is my first year, and I'll admit this walking in the woods in the pitch black has taken some getting used to. That said...for the first time...this morning...I was really spooked.

I showed up at my parking spot to get out and get ready around 5:30 this a.m. Got my gear on and headed to the spot I picked out a week before which is about 1/4 mile from the car. I wasn't more than 1/4 way there when I look up and there's a set of eyes what I'd guess was 75 yds in front of me...lookin at me. I thought...nah...it's just some of those reflectors otherhunters have used outhere to guide them in the night, till they disappeared....and then came back...then I figureit's something else. The eyes were set pretty far apart, so it wasn't a coon, possum..or some other harmless thing. My heart was about to pump through my chest...and I decided I'd make some noise to see if whatever this was would retreat. I jumped up and down so my climbing stand would clang...and then stomped on the ground (not sure really why I did that)....but this thing wasn't budging. And...at that point...I tucked tail and turned around and headed back to the car.

IfI'd had a shotgun....I'd a kept movin towards it...but somehow, even with the knowledge that no animal here in Illinois attacks humans...I was spooked. This animal was either not afraid of this bouncing light in the woods...or curious enough as to what the hellI was...that it was hanging around to find out.