Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 please help me pick a bow >

please help me pick a bow

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

please help me pick a bow

Old 12-15-2007, 02:50 PM

Default please help me pick a bow

I posted this on another site and didnt get any help...I was hoping this site would be better

you can skipp to "THE QUESTION" or read on

I started shooting again last year after a 12 year break I'm 24
this fall my buddy just bought a new drenilin(sp). I didnt even know he bow hunted
after shooting his bow I couldnt belive how great it shot compaired to the stuff I was used to shooting(I could actualy hit what I was aiming at). Acting all excited about bow hunting he offered me his last years bow if I wanted to go hunting. I said HECK YEA!

well about a week later he called and said I could come pick it up at his house
I went over there thinking I was goning to get a switchback or something. then he opened the door and handed me some early 90's POS plastic cammed browning bow. I acted greatfull went out bougth a sight,rest, and release. shot it for 2 weeks strait untill the start of bow season.

to make a long story less long I got 2 bucks with it this year and had a great time doing it...I now have the archery bug.

MY QUESTION IS: being a newb to buying a bow what do you think i should get?(i have withheld the names so fanboys wont mess this up)
I want a bow that I can enjoy shooting in the off season too. what do you think i would end up liking more?

thould I get
Bow A: faster than bow B, lighter than bow B, smoother draw than bow B
more cam setting options, bigger vally, a little hand shock,less forgivign

Bow B:little slower,heavier,cooler looking, harsher draw but not too bad, dead as nails at the shot. smaller vally.more forgiving