Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 How do YOU hang your hang-ons?? >

How do YOU hang your hang-ons??

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How do YOU hang your hang-ons??

Old 11-26-2007, 12:10 PM
Typical Buck

Default How do YOU hang your hang-ons??

Anyone have any pictures or tutorials on how they hang their lock-on stands? I have never done it before and have noticed on here that it can be somewhat dangerous. I would like some of your opinions and tips.
I have always hunted out of my climber or ground blind. I really like these approaches to hunting deer, but think that lock-ons might add a helpful dimension?

Thanks!
Old 11-26-2007, 12:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How do YOU hang your hang-ons??

I don't have pictures but how I hang my stand depends on which model/brand I'm using. Basically I climb up the tree using whatever method of steps/ladder/stick I'm using. When I get to the height I want I use my rock climbing harness and tie off to the tree using a safety rope that I adjust to give me just enough slack to comfortably lean back and have both hands free. I usually have the stand on my back, but you can pull it up with a rope if you like. I either use a T-bar and hang the stand on that, if it is built (or modified) to use one, orattach the chain/belt, I then synch up the belt. I prefer belts over chains because; a) they are quieter, lighter b) they can be tightened/loosened easier than chains.For chains and belts I often use a second strap lower down to help stabilize the stand and eliminate squeeks. My main stand isso familiar to me I can hang it with my eyes closed (sometimes pre-dawn light is that dark). Practice hanging your stand just a few feet off the ground. Get real familiar with it and modify it with moleskin and padding to make it as quiet as possible.
Old 11-26-2007, 12:29 PM
Giant Nontypical