Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Range Finder advice >

Range Finder advice

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Range Finder advice

Old 11-15-2007, 09:20 AM

Default Range Finder advice

I'm in the market for a range finder and (Bow hunt only from 20yds up) so I am debating do I go with a rangefinder around $200 or do I Need to get one with the angle calculation (arc) that are almost double that. I know you get what you pay for, but is it a big difference from regular to arc. I'm asking this because I've never used one before.. Any help is
Greatly Appreciated!!!

Thank you
Phil
Old 11-15-2007, 09:31 AM

Default RE: Range Finder advice

i bought the bushnell 450 after using a buddys and absolutely love it. i dont think the whole arc business is worth the extra money for short bow shots. just my opinion, but I made it 20 yrs without a range finder at all.
now that i have one, could not imagine life without. ps the bushnell can be had on sale for about $129
Old 11-15-2007, 09:33 AM
Dominant Buck

For my hunting the rest of this year....I won't need one. I doubt I'll use one much, next year. I know what 20yds looks like.....and I know my limits (now).

I wouldn't ay the extra for the arc.....and if you're 20YDS up in a tree.....you're WAY too high
Old 11-15-2007, 09:35 AM
Fork Horn

There is a difference. I just got oneon e-bay for about $160 shipped ( new Bushnell yardagepro sport 450 camo) in the store it was $180.It works for me. When your in a stand you have to aim a little low, if at all. I think it really depends on how far it is and what your pin will shoot,ex 1st pin might be good for 15 to 30 yards therefore you may not have to alter your aim. Up in a stand the range is very deceiving and I'm glad I got one
Old 11-15-2007, 09:38 AM
Spike