HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Funnels (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/208758-funnels.html)

tricci357 09-25-2007 05:21 PM

Funnels

I feel silly asking this, but I still can't figure it out. I have been hunting since I was 7 years old and I am now 24...however I still don't really know how to recognize a funnel. Everytime i think i have it figured out the deer don't go through the area i think that they will. I have read the articles and magazines, but I think i must be missing something. If anyone can "dummy" it down for me I would appreciate it.

mauser06 09-25-2007 05:41 PM

RE: Funnels

think of a funnel as a bottleneck(also called bottle necks:D) anything that will choke down deer movement be it terrain, cover, deep nasty rivers deer arent likely to cross, wide open fields, etc etc...

some of my favorite funnels are thin strips of woods...come the rut, thats right where i sit. one spot in particular i pretty muhc only hunt during the seek/chasing phase of the rut. sometimes it holds a buck..others it dont. but it is home to a handful of does and is TINY at one point...maybe 15yds of woods. field behind me and a 40ft cliff face to a creek. sure, ive seen them go through the field...but 95% of the time they are going to cruise that strip of woods.

alot of things will funnel deer. a high fence that has a hole in it or a section missing...a saddle(low spot) on a ridge top, etc etc....just gotta think like a deer. if i were a deer i wouldnt run the wide open fields and i sure as heck aint going down a 40ft cliff...

2 bigger woodlots connected by a small strip of woods or a hedgerow is always good...

thats a start...theres tons of examples out there...

PAHunter2B 09-25-2007 05:49 PM