Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 How high do I need to go? >

How high do I need to go?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How high do I need to go?

Old 09-17-2007, 06:18 AM
Typical Buck

Default How high do I need to go?

I wen't hunting Saturday and had a ghost deer spook directly under my stand. I never saw it because it came in from behind me. But aparently it either saw me move my head or caught wind of me as it was going under my stand. I was about 16 feet up. My first question is... is that high enough or do I need to go higher? This is my first year using a climber so I don't know what height I need to go? Also, how will my height affect arrow trajectory? Is a 20 yard shot still a 20 yard shot? (if you know what I mean?). Thanks for the help and advice.
Old 09-17-2007, 06:33 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: How high do I need to go?

How high really depends on your set up. I am generally 20 to 30 feet. I prefer to be in the 25 and up range, but cover determines my height usually. As far as height affecting arrow flight there are quite a few threads about that. Some of the other guys can probably provide a link to the more helpful ones. Hope this helps some and Good Luck
Old 09-17-2007, 06:34 AM
Giant Nontypical

As for your height I'n sure you'll read alot of diffrent answers for that one but I would go twenty to twenty four feet.
As for your shooting distance ( yardage ) if that buck was directly below you at sixteen feet up you would have to use your ten yard pinband aim it a little lower.
If you thought that deer was twenty yards your wrong that twenty yards was really about ten or less straight down , the next time a deer is right below you and your sixteen to twenty feet up use your ten yard pin and aim low.
You'll be amazed how short of a distance it really is.
Old 09-17-2007, 09:38 AM
Typical Buck