Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Snuff in stand

Old 09-05-2007, 07:28 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Snuff in stand

When i'm in my stand i like to chew gum or suck on a mint haven't had any problem so for. but i always make sure the winds in my favor.
Old 09-05-2007, 07:32 PM

I usually chew Skoal Fine Cut Wintergreen! Never had any problems, I just spit on the dirt below. Actually, last year, I had three deer under my stand (doe) and they never knew I was there, even spit on the back of one...never even phased them....ha.

Old 09-05-2007, 07:33 PM
Fork Horn

I've been chewing kodiak for almost 20 years and I NEVER chew in my stand, other than your hair your breath gives off probably the most scent.. I always carry a couple apples and some spearament gum with me, dont know if the gum is any better than the chew but heard it is... Not sure about the apple chew, I have had the apple skoal and it sure smells appely and even tastes like apple so I would imagine it would be better than chew... (anythings better than that chokengagen, ha,ha) Good luck this fall... One other thing, no matter what, I wouldnt spit it on my platform or anywhere else for that matter, either gut it, or carry a tuner..
Old 09-05-2007, 08:09 PM

Kodiak here. I don't worry about it. Spit in a bottle.

I used to smoke. Now I dip. Some say the dip is worse than smoking. It probably is.

I can stay on stand all day. When I smoked...it was nearly impossible to go much more than 4 hours before lighting up.

I can't say that I miss the ol' smokers hack.

Nothin' worse than to have a piece of lung-butter dislodge when a decent animal is working in and try to keep that involuntary action of hacking it up from happening!
Old 09-05-2007, 09:16 PM
Spike