Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 any hunters have a fear of heights? >

any hunters have a fear of heights?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

any hunters have a fear of heights?

Old 08-24-2007, 04:51 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: any hunters have a fear of heights?

I build scaffold for a living, work on a 2" metal bar day in and day out, up to a couple hundred feet off the ground. However I still don't care for heights all that much. You just be careful and earn your check. I have noticed though that when I'm hunting in a stand I get the "buck jitters" pretty bad but when I'm hunting on the ground I hardly get them at all. There is one thing that you can do to help make yourself more comfortable in the tree stand is to hang it where a limb sits at about the same height as your ribcage on your draw arm side. You can use it to help stand up and sit down with. I t really does give you a little mores sense of security and also provides some cover as well.
Old 08-24-2007, 05:36 PM
Giant Nontypical

Yep, deathly afraid of heights, I have 5 ladder stands, and they are all at around 10'. I tried to put one up once, (or should I say I had my wife put one up) It was 15', and when I got up there, I couldnt even move. So I figured there was no point in going that high.
Old 08-24-2007, 05:39 PM
Banned

No fear. Fear is weakness and I have no weakness.[8D]
Old 08-24-2007, 05:53 PM
Fork Horn

My first job when I was 17, this guy gives me a back pack with giant lightbulbs in it and just told me to climb that radio tower and dont look down. It took my 2hours to go 1560 feet straight up. I did that jobtil I turned 20 and that was enough. You learn not to drink alot the night before your scheduled climb.
Old 08-24-2007, 06:02 PM
Fork Horn