Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Wildlife Biology? >

Wildlife Biology?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Wildlife Biology?

Old 06-17-2007, 12:30 PM

Default Wildlife Biology?

Is there any wildlife biologists out there? I was wondering how you go about it and what it is like. I'll be a junior in high school next year so I am deciding what I want to do. Thanks for any input!
Old 06-17-2007, 05:21 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Wildlife Biology?

Alot of competition in wildlife bio jobs. Im majoring in Aquatic Bio. If you do decide to try Wildlife bio. check out Murray State in western KY, and it would be a great idea to go for your masters.
Old 06-17-2007, 06:03 PM
Nontypical Buck

I graduated 32 yr's ago with a Wildlife Management Degree from University of WI. For 18 yr's I managed a County Land Conservation Dept. For the last 14 yr's I 've worked for our State Ag Dept. Wildlife Biology is a tough major. When I started school, most of the guys I was in the dorm with were wildlife majors. By the end of the first semester, most of them changed majors. You have to know soils, forestry, limnology, chemistry, as well as plant and animal biology, some engineering and communication skills.
As Psebw... said, getting into the field is really tough. There are a lot of otherscompetingfor a very few jobs. You'll never make a lot of money.
Having said that, I have enjoyed my job and look forward to going to work almost every day. Given the chance, I would do it all over again.
Old 06-17-2007, 07:47 PM

My brother got a Wildlife Biology degree from Colorado state. He went right into fighting forest fires and hasn't looked back.
Old 06-17-2007, 10:29 PM