Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Anyone try raising a fawn? >

Anyone try raising a fawn?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Anyone try raising a fawn?

Old 05-23-2007, 09:20 AM
Fork Horn

Default Anyone try raising a fawn?

I work in law enforcement and have seen plenty of deer accidents but we had a unusual one last friday. A car hit a doe whitch killed her. Twin unborn fawns were forced out of her on impact. One was dead but the other was alive and seemed to be okay. After placing a few calls to the proper people, we were told to put the fawn down. We were also told that goats milk is the only thing that you could feed the fawn. No goats around here to try this. We did put the fawn down. But if this happens again or a fawn is found alone, what others things can it be fed to keep it alive. I don't want to raise deer myself. I just want advise to give to people that may havethis question and want to give a fawn a chance to live.

Thanks
Old 05-23-2007, 09:35 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Anyone try raising a fawn?

When things like this stop bothering me.....I'll quit hunting (and check my head, real good). That story is just sad.....

mt...my next door neighbor (1/4 mi. away )heard something in the woods, last year (VERY NEAR where I hunt). He looked and found nothing. Next day.....it's raining....same sound. He went back in.....and found a fawn. He has a friend who raises them.....and he and his little girl took it to him. It's still doing fine. Hannah's little doe is 1 yr. old, now.
Old 05-23-2007, 09:43 AM
Dominant Buck

I tried but lasted two days before a cookout got the best of me.[8D]

No never because I do believe I would eat it first. Here are two pics of my favorite mounts.

Old 05-23-2007, 09:48 AM
Nontypical Buck

This should be good.

Old 05-23-2007, 09:56 AM