HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   How were you introduced? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/186122-how-were-you-introduced.html)

Archer18 03-27-2007 10:59 AM

How were you introduced?

This question has probably been asked a few times, butI would like to know and I am sure others are interested as well.

1. How were you introduced to archery/when?
2. Your favorite game to hunt?
3. How long it took to get that first memorable kill with a bow?

I was introduced by my dad, I started shooting a bow when I was probably 6 or 7. My favorite game has to be the elusive and intelligent Rocky Mountain Elk. I was 14 I think when I shot my first bull, it was a spike, since then I haven't had another kill it's been about 5 years : (I have had oppurtunities though!

whitetailhunter01 03-27-2007 11:08 AM

RE: How were you introduced?

When I was about 8...target shooting with my dad.
Whitetail
Still waiting.:eek:

GMMAT 03-27-2007 11:09 AM

I began when I was a kid.......buying arrows at the hardware store and making my "bows" out of pine boughs that I would notch and "string" with nylon rope. I later shot a recurve that my dad had.....but never took it seriously....and never shot at an animal. I bought my first compound in 2005.....after buying my son a bow and seeing how much fun he was having shooting it. I never dreamed I would become so interested.

2. Your favorite game to hunt? Whitetail deer......but that MAY change when I get a chance to arrow a gobbler!

3. How long it took to get that first memorable kill with a bow? I went on my first whitetail hunt in October (late) of '05. I took one shot, that year......and took my first deer on 9/30 of '06.

HuntingBry 03-27-2007 12:03 PM

I love these threads. It's great to see how our fellow hunters got started.