Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 how to hunt thick thick cover >

how to hunt thick thick cover

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

how to hunt thick thick cover

Old 01-22-2007, 07:45 PM

Default how to hunt thick thick cover

i am a relative newb when it comes to hunting. growing up, my dad was handicapped, so he couldn't indoctrinate me into the ways of the woods. recently, i've regained an interest in hunting and am doing as much reading and research as possible to get spun up before the season starts this fall.

right now, one of the places i can hunt is on base here in "wonderful" south eastern louisiana. the available areas are thick THICK cover and i'm wondering what the best strategy would be.

here's a sat pic of a representative area (click for full-size image):

thanks for any tips!
Old 01-22-2007, 07:47 PM

Default RE: how to hunt thick thick cover

Your avatar is big pimpin
Old 01-22-2007, 07:49 PM

tree stand PERIOD.....
Old 01-22-2007, 07:57 PM

ORIGINAL: humblehunter

Your avatar is big pimpin
i wear one on each side of the color

ORIGINAL: martin murphy

tree stand PERIOD.....
by regulation, still hunting is all that's authorized, but most people use climbers. i'm planning on scouting around through the spring, but it's all pretty much the same - THICK! some of this stuff is so thick you can barely move ...
Old 01-22-2007, 08:10 PM
Giant Nontypical

I have great luck not actually in the thick stuff but on the edges of it where two kinds of terrain come together, say a thick area with honey suckle, brushy, alot of undergroath, where it meets with, say more open woods with bigger more mature trees, look for pinchpoints, or mabey blowdowns that sway deer to travel a certain way. look for places where they might be comming into the thick stuff or leaving it to bed or feed.
Dan
Old 01-22-2007, 08:19 PM
Banned