Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 New Guy Question >

New Guy Question

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

New Guy Question

Old 12-10-2006, 06:41 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default New Guy Question

As I've said, I'm new to bows and have purchased an "inexpensive bow" until I see if bow hunting is for me. I may try it out during the last day or two of the hunting season but more than likely I will wait for the opener next yr. I've been practicing at 10, 20, and 30 yds and am hitting what I shoot at but have heard that it is different 20 or 30 f00t up a tree.
I was wondering if you folk sight your bows in from ground level or from a height such as you will be in the woods . . .or does it matter?
Any tips would be appreciated.
Old 12-10-2006, 06:43 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: New Guy Question

sight mine in from the ground and aim for the exit hole ( where you want it to exit) and shoot behind the shoulder
Old 12-10-2006, 06:45 PM
Giant Nontypical

Leaf, just sight your bow in from the ground and then practice from your stand height. I am aiming right whereI want it to hit from my stand keeping in mind where the arrow will exit. ( angels etc.) Glad your picking up the bow. Chris
Old 12-10-2006, 06:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

On slower bows you may have to compensate for the height difference. But with todays faster bows the diff is hardly noticeable.

Climb up in a tree and check out how your bow does at known yardages. That way you will know if you need to make adjustments.

I shoot a fast bow so I just sight in on the ground and do not worry about it. My point of impact will not be off more then an inch or 2 at most.
Old 12-10-2006, 06:50 PM

I sight in from ground level. Once I get her sighted in, then I practice shots from both the ground and tree stand level. That way I know I can make the shot out in the real world.