Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Babe Ruth...14 Degrees...and my best deer (VERY long) >

Babe Ruth...14 Degrees...and my best deer (VERY long)

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Babe Ruth...14 Degrees...and my best deer (VERY long)

Old 12-10-2006, 09:57 AM
Dominant Buck

Default Babe Ruth...14 Degrees...and my best deer (VERY long)

When I was a freshman in college…..I remember the first time I got called on to pinch hit in a game (we were winning….and it was an opportune time to get me an AB). Coach called my name….I came off the bench and NERVOUSLY told my teammates...”I’ll probably hit a dinger”. So it began…..

When I said on Friday I was going to take a deer on Saturday (Place your bets)…..I in no way meant any disrespect to the animals….and I wasn’t trying to sound cocky, here. I’d purposely not hunted this area very much…and I knew I’d seen deer in there (I drive by there several times a day). This is the spot that Rob/PA and I hunted when he was down here visiting. In fact….I got into the same tree I hunted out of…..only this time I varied my entrance….and I went in EARLY, again. FOURTEEN degrees when my CHAMPION wife drove me to the entrance point of the woods and dropped me off (It’s 4:50 AM, boys…..I KNOW I’m loved!).

Bumped one that was bedded down, making my entrance. I don’t care how many times you do this….you ALWAYS wonder if you didn’t just bump a huge buck (the deer was alone). I’m layered up….but even before daylight I’m beginning to get cold. I’ve had a long sit waiting on light…..and my toes are FROZEN.I hope this is worth it…..but I’m always enthusiastic…..as I was THIS morning.