Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
SHAWNEE NATIONAL FOREST >

SHAWNEE NATIONAL FOREST

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

SHAWNEE NATIONAL FOREST

Old 11-21-2002, 10:56 AM
Fork Horn

Default SHAWNEE NATIONAL FOREST

I live in MO. and do most of my bowhunting in IL. I lucked out and found a good piece of private ground that I have been hunting for about 10 years. I see alot of bowhunters from out of state and have talked to several of them and most of them hunt the Shawnee or state ground and every year and they kill some huge bucks on public ground. I do of most of my hunting in Johnson County and there is a large chunk of Shawnee there. But most of the nonresidents hunt in Pope County. If anyone hunts either of these counties, drop me a line or two and tell me what you think about the area or let me know of a differnt area in southern IL. I would really appreciate some comments on this. Thanks 4runner
Old 11-21-2002, 11:20 AM

Default RE: SHAWNEE NATIONAL FOREST

HC4, I'm from NY and I hunted the Shawnee near Murphysboro in Jackson County 2yrs ago. Beautiful area with lots of deer and several big bucks. We saw a few wallhangers but none came in close enough for a shot. I was very impressed with the area and would love to make the trip back there some year.

My neighbor is hunting there this week and already scored on a big 9 point. I shoulda went with him. Would have loved to have seen the look on his face.

Turc

Old 11-22-2002, 11:42 AM
Fork Horn