Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Stalking?  Need help please. >

Stalking? Need help please.

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Stalking? Need help please.

Old 11-13-2006, 05:57 PM

Default Stalking? Need help please.

Alrighty, I'm still new to bowhunting, going on 2 years. I use a tree stand and blind and havn't had much luck. I stalked a few times and was extremly close to a doe, but spooked her. Any suggestions on stalking? Is stalking any good? I know hunting from a stand is better, but I'm going on a hunting trip to some public archery only grounds here in MO. Theres about 6,000 acres, and I never been there. I want to see how the place is like, but don't know where to start. Any suggestions? I'll be hunting in December. When do they start shedding their antlers?
Old 11-13-2006, 06:16 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Stalking? Need help please.

Try to get a topo map of the area so you know what kind of terrain to expect. From there I would look for ridge lines or creek beds to hunt. Anything that might be a natural funnel. You will probably be better off in a stand but if you must stalk, well, still hunt. Walk with the wind in your face and the sun at your back if possible. Take a few slow quiet steps at a time. Stop often and stay still for several minutes before you start walking again. When you are stopped look and listen to the woods around you very carefully. Get as scent free as you can and post pics of what you kill! Good luck!
Old 11-13-2006, 06:31 PM