Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Attn Bear Hunters.... >

Attn Bear Hunters....

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Attn Bear Hunters....

Old 11-13-2006, 10:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Attn Bear Hunters....

What do you prefer.....Bait or Dogs????

I should get drawn this year for a Wisconsin Black Bear tag.Now I have the option to hunt over bait or with dogs. I know it is competely up to me, but this is my first time bear hunting and would like to hear what others had to say. I would think bait would be more up close and personal, but I heard dogs are exciting. What do you think????
Old 11-13-2006, 11:11 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Attn Bear Hunters....

Why not keep it fair and spot and stalk.
Old 11-13-2006, 11:17 AM
Typical Buck

I have taken half a dozen blacks, aLL of them taken with the bow, all of them were targets of opportunity while deer hunting.

If I was going to target one, bait would be the way to go I guess.
Old 11-13-2006, 11:25 AM

using bait or dogs is a joke
Old 11-13-2006, 01:38 PM
Nontypical Buck

Thanks for your efforts in answering this question. I understand it is a real challenge to give a serious answer. Although I do enjoy reading responses, these were a complete waste of your and my time. Thanks anyways
Old 11-13-2006, 02:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

First yeah gotta know wi to comment on it. I've been hunting wi for 15 yrs. Always in the woods. I've seen one bear. Theres alot but are hard to just go out and say I'm gonna spot and stalk one. You want a real answer use bait. You'll get our shot. Spot and stalk you won't. If you can't answer someone's question for real don't waste the hunters time.
Old 11-13-2006, 02:50 PM
Nontypical Buck