Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

accuracy rate?

Old 10-26-2006, 01:09 PM
Typical Buck

Default accuracy rate?

hey guys. i was just wonderin how often you all have a bad shot while target practicing.

rarely do i ever mess up a shot at ten yards
at 20 yards, about every 5th shot is off by more than 6 inches
at 30 yards about every 3rd shot is off by almost a foot
40 yards.....lucky if i hit the target

im just curious how i compare to other compound bow hunters. somehow if feels like i could greatly improve my shooting but ive tried everything and still dont get any better. ive been taking about 20 shots a day. today i was shooting great at 20 and then all of a sudden i started shooting waaay too high. idk if its because i dont use a release because my draw length is about 3 inches too long or what but it really frustrates me. im not about to go buy a brand new $400 bow but i just want my groups at 20 and 30 to improve.
Old 10-26-2006, 01:12 PM

Default RE: accuracy rate?

ORIGINAL: BowHunter46

my draw length is about 3 inches too long
You just found your problem.
Old 10-26-2006, 01:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: BackwoodsBuck

my draw length is about 3 inches too long
You just found your problem.
Exactly what i was thinking.
Old 10-26-2006, 01:16 PM
Typical Buck

idk how to lessen the length though. im only 15 and i know my parents arnt gonna let me spend my money on a bow. i had my uncle take a look at it but we could find no way to lessin it. should i limit myself to 10 or 15 yard shots?
Old 10-26-2006, 01:17 PM
Giant Nontypical

ditto. You'll have an immensely hard time trying to be accurate with a bow that doesn't fit.
Old 10-26-2006, 01:23 PM
Nontypical Buck