Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Good Broadheads for Bad Hits??? >

Good Broadheads for Bad Hits???

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Good Broadheads for Bad Hits???

Old 10-06-2006, 07:30 AM
Fork Horn

Default Good Broadheads for Bad Hits???

I've been hunting for many years. I've taken what I consider a large amount of whitetails. I shoot a lot and am a very good shot. I have a steady nerve in the woods and have taken over 20 bucks in my 15 years of hunting. But bad shots do happen from time to time and one did yesterday.

I've shot many types of broadheads over the years not being able to find one that I really like. I talk to my bow hunting buddies about broadheads and it has became a real hot topic lately. One thing we do know is on a good shot, just about any broadhead will do the trick. The broadhead that performs well on bad shots should be the winner.

Broadheads that passthrough are probably a priority, with the hole size or damage for bloodtrails being a close second.

I was shooting the Eastman First Cut EXP 100's and in my opinion they are junk. On a quartering away deer, behind the ribs they didnt pass-through(295 fps with on 415 grains). On a doe I shot an hour later with a double lung, i did get pass-through with the arrow sticking into the dirt about 6 inches. Both shots left a very light bloodtrail. Double lung shots, should not leave a light bloodtrail IMO.I never did find the buck. I did stumble accross the doe who ran about 100 yards, with no blood for the last 30 yards.

Anyone who has bowhunting any length of time has had bad hits and lost deer. It's a shame when this happens, but it does happen and will happen again to all of us. I know ofthree 8 pointers this year that went un-recovered because of bad hits and/or poor broadhead performance.

Discuss.

Old 10-06-2006, 07:36 AM