Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Need help with arrow and broadheads. >

Need help with arrow and broadheads.

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Need help with arrow and broadheads.

Old 09-26-2006, 09:38 AM
Spike

Default Need help with arrow and broadheads.

I've got my girlfriend into archery, I am also new to the sport and need help with the set-up. She is pulling 27in. and 40 lbs. and I need help with the type of arrows and wieght of broadhead. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 09-26-2006, 10:10 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Need help with arrow and broadheads.

id pick a good cut on contact 2 blade head just to ensure good solid penetration for a setup that is that light...well light compared to what most guys pull...
Old 09-26-2006, 10:50 PM
Fork Horn

my wife uses the rocket ultimate steel and now the cabelas version and has gotten total pass throughs with 45lbs. her bow is pretty quick though around 220-240 can rember exactly since last year. for arrows carbon in a higher weight then recomended for her bow to get some kinetic engergy. i also think cut on impact is a good choice.
Old 09-27-2006, 01:05 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: mauser06

id pick a good cut on contact 2 blade head just to ensure good solid penetration for a setup that is that light...well light compared to what most guys pull...
Such as a Magnus Stinger 2 blade....

With light draw weights, you're going to want a heavy arrow. I'd say shoot the heaviest arrow she can use accurately. This will greatly increase her penetration. Forget the super light carbon arrows for her. Go heavy and get pass throughs.
Old 09-27-2006, 09:56 PM
Fork Horn