Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 broadhead target blues >

broadhead target blues

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

broadhead target blues

Old 08-30-2006, 06:00 PM

Default broadhead target blues

First off I would like to say hi and this seems like a great site and awesome source of information. I guess you could say I'm farily news to bow hunting (I've been messing around for the past 3 years but got a serious bow and stuff this year.

I have a block 4x4 and recently started shooting only broadheads to get ready for the season. field pointsgot along great with my block but the broad heads seem to be making it disinigreate (sp?) before my eyes. I know the purpose of the BH is to inflict damage but damn the target is $100. the foam is startin to fall out in chunks so i just stick them back in. Any ideas?
Old 08-30-2006, 06:19 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: broadhead target blues

go buy one of those big yellow jacket foam broadhead targets from morells. They are only like 50 dollars and are supposedly really good. I need to take my own advice because I'm experiencing the same problems you are right now. So I stopped shooting my block directly and now I have some cheap foam targets in front of the block and now only shallow areas of the block are falling out at a time. But you're right, the target is tooooooooo expensive to just watch fall apart.
Good luck.
Old 09-01-2006, 06:51 AM

I know I can't be the only one with this problem. wonder how he glen del would compare.
Old 09-01-2006, 07:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

The foam is in 1/8" layers. Blades cut slices. What else can you expect? One of the better targets for broadheads is the Yellow Jacket by Morrell.

The GlenDel buck, if using the layered insert will do the same thing as the Block.