Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Shooting problems >

Shooting problems

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Shooting problems

Old 08-08-2006, 04:18 PM
Fork Horn

Default Shooting problems

I have been bowhunting for several years, but am having a shooting issue which I have never been able to figure out.
After several rounds of shots during a shooting session my shots start drifting to the right. I am a right-handed shooter. This does not concern me because you are bound to start getting tired.. and anyways it is the first shot that counts when hunting, eh. What DOES concern me is that sometimes a shot goes way to the right (maybe 8 inches or more). Im damned if I can figure out what I am doing to cause this. I dont think it is the equipment (an older model Bear compound) because I have checked for anything loose or out of alignment (including arrows). I am trying to focus on my bow arm to determine if it is something I am doing after the release or what. Last year I saw the online videos by the Bowman which helped my shooting and form.. but I cannot figure out this problem.
I have not taken a deer yet during archery season but until I figure this out I am not confident shooting at a deer knowing my shot may go wild.
On the other hand, my first shot in a session almost never goes wild.. so maybe I should only keep track of the first round of shots.

Maybe I need to go to a pro for advice, but if anyone has suggestions it would be appreciated.
Old 08-08-2006, 04:27 PM

Default RE: Shooting problems

you could be torqing the bow a little i had the same problem and that is what it was
Old 08-08-2006, 04:49 PM

Sounds like an out of tune bow, coupled w/ bowhand torque. Man, that darn torque will get ya everytime. Get a good sight w/ a bubble level on it, and use the level.
Old 08-08-2006, 04:54 PM
Giant Nontypical